Place Justice Advisory Council Members

  • Samaa Abdurraqib, Executive Director of Maine Humanities Council
  • Libby Bischof, USM Professor of History and Executive Director at Osher Map Library
  • Zeke Crofton-Macdonald,  Ambassador for the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians
  • Maulian Dana, PCRITP Co-Chair, Penobscot Tribal Ambassador
  • Stephen M. Dickson, Maine State Geologist, Department of Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry
  • Bob Greene, Scholar of Maine’s Black history
  • Fiona Hopper, Wabanaki and Africana Studies lead at Portland Public Schools
  • Mishy Lesser, Director of the Upstander Project
  • Kate McBrien, Maine State Archivist
  • Kate McMahon, Scholar at Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History & Culture, Center for the Study of Global Slavery
  • Marcelle Medford, PCRITP Commissioner, Assistant Professor of Sociology at Bates College
  • Darrell Newell, PCRITP Commissioner representing the Passamaquoddy Tribe
  • Darren Ranco, Chair of Native American Programs and Professor of Anthropology, University of Maine
  • Richard Silliboy, PCRITP Commissioner representing the Micmac Tribal Nation
  • Rachel Talbot Ross, PCRITP Co-Chair, Speaker of the Maine House
  • Dawud Ummah, Farmer and Owner of Ummah Gardens
  • Georgia Zildjian, Castine resident and member of Castine’s Island Name Change Committee

Place Justice Team

  • Erika Arthur, Policy Analyst with Catherine Cutler Institute, USM
  • Meadow Dibble, Public History and Education Consultant, Project Lead
  • Olivia Eckert, Graduate student research assistant, USM


  • Vana Carmona, Researcher of Maine’s Black history
  • Florence Edwards, Freelance media producer, Facilitator
  • Kate McMahon, Scholar focused on Maine’s role in the illicit slave trade
  • Jill Williams, Transitional Justice consultant